APPG Banner image


Alex Chalk MP Photo

Chair: Alex Chalk MP

Alex Chalk was elected as the MP for Cheltenham in 2015 and again in 2017.

Alex served on the influential Justice Select Committee. He is a Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Pro Bono and Public Legal Education; Vice-Chair of the APPG on Cycling; Vice-Chair of the APPG on Bees; Vice-Chair of the APPG on Eating Disorders; and a member of the APPG for Highways Maintenance, amongst others. In early 2018 Alex was appointed Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS) to the Department of Education.

Angela Crawley MP Photo

Angela Crawley MP

Angela was elected as a Member of Parliament for Lanark & Hamilton East in 2015 and has since been returned on two occasions. She served as the SNP’s spokesperson for Women & Equalities for four years before moving to Defence Procurement. Prior to becoming and MP, Angela served as a local Councillor and worked for a Scottish Government Minister.

Rt Hon George Howarth Photo

The Rt Hon George Howarth

MP for Knowsley since 1986. He was Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Home Office) May 1997 - Jul 1999 and Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Northern Ireland Office) Jul 1999 - Jun 2001. He sits on the Panel of Chairs.

Viscount Waverley Photo

The Viscount Waverley

Lord Waverley is a Crossbench peer, entering the Lords in 1993. He founded & chaired the All-Party Parliamentary Groups for Central Asia (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan) in addition to heading the regional Central Asian Group. He has observed national elections on behalf of the Commonwealth. Lord Waverley is the Founder and Chairman of SupplyFinder.

Lord West Photo

Admiral the Rt Hon Lord West of Spithead GCB DSC PC ADC DUniv

After serving as First Sea Lord, Lord West became Minister for national security and counter-terrorism as well as cyber and Olympic security in 2007.
He produced the United Kingdom’s and world’s first National Cyber Security strategy. He left government in May 2010.

Lord Arbuthnot Photo

The Rt Hon Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom

Lord (James) Arbuthnot has a long history of involvement at the top of UK defence and political life, having been a Conservative MP for 28 years, Minister of State for Defence Procurement (1995-7), Conservative Chief Whip (1997-2001), and Chairman of the Defence Select Committee (2005-2014). He now advises SC Strategy Ltd, Thales UK and other companies and is a Senior Associate Fellow of the Royal United Services Institute.

Baroness Neville-Jones Photo

The Rt Hon. the Baroness Neville-Jones

Baroness Neville-Jones is a Conservative Peer, appointed in 2007. She sits on the Science and Technology Committee (Lords) and was Minister of State (Home Office) (Security) May 2010 – Sep 2011. Prior to entering Parliament she was a civil servant in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and then became a Governor of the BBC from 1998 – 2004. Before entering Parliament she was non-executive Chairman of Qinetiq and Chairman of the Information Assurance Advisory Council until 2007.

Baroness Neville-Rolfe Photo

The Baroness Neville-Rolfe

Baroness Neville Rolfe is a Conservative peer, appointed in 2013. She sits on the European Union Committee and the EU Financial Affairs Sub-Committee. Prior to this she was Commercial Secretary (Minister of State) (HM Treasury) Dec 2016 - Jun 2017, Minister of State (Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy) Jul 2016 - Dec 2016, Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Culture, Media and Sport) May 2015 - Jul 2016 and Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Business, Innovation and Skills) (Intellectual Property) Jul 2014 - Jul 2016. Before entering Parliament she was a Main Board Director of Tescos.

Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate Photo

The Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate

Lord Mackenzie is a Labour peer, appointed in 1998. He has sat on the EU Sub Committee - Home Affairs, Health and Education May 2012 - Jul 2013 and the EU Sub-Committee F - Home Affairs Nov 2009 - May 2012. Prior to entering Parliament, he served in the Durham Constabulary from 1963 to 1998 reaching the rank of Chief Superintendent. He is also a Graduate of the FBI National Academy (1985). He is also the Patron of the Association of Security Consultants (ASC).

Andrew Henderson Photo

Public Enquiry Point
Andrew Henderson, Wychwood Consulting Ltd

Andrew Henderson runs the Secretariat of the APPG. He has been an associate of the ISG since 2009 and has many years in the Smart card and encryption technology sectors. Andrew advises clients on cyber security issues and also advises clients on political engagement and strategies.

Keith Mayes Photo


The Information Security Group (ISG), Royal Holloway University of London, acts as the group's secretariat via Wychwood Consulting Ltd.

Professor Keith Mayes B.Sc. Ph.D. CEng FIET A.Inst.ISP, is the Director of the Information Security Group (ISG), and the Head of the School of Mathematics and Information Security at Royal Holloway University of London; which has been pioneering information/cyber security research and education since 1990. Keith joined the ISG in 2002, originally as the Founder Director of the ISG Smart Card Centre, following a career in industry working for Pye TVT, Honeywell Aerospace and Defence, Racal Research and Vodafone. Keith is a Chartered Engineer, a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a Founder Associate Member of the Institute of Information Security Professionals, a Member of the Licensing Executives Society and an experienced company director and consultant.